When to Start the Eviction Process in North Carolina

Too many times I see landlords who have let a tenant stay in the rental property for several months without paying. This is a huge mistake and will cost you dearly.

Process I recommend:

1. make sure your written leases have a due date for rent.

2. Make sure your lease has a past due date.

3. The day after the past due date, send a letter (keep a copy for litigation, if necessary) stating:

Dear <Tenant>, your rent is past due. You have 10 days to pay the rent <plus late fees (if you're lease permits this)> or we will begin the eviction process. Sincerely, <Landlord>

4. Don't let Tenant sob stories slow you down. Remember, you are not in the business of leasing property as a charity.

5. Call Sanders Law Firm, PLLC if you need assistance with an eviction in Winston-Salem and Forsyth County. We only represent Landlords. Our rates are typically $450 for an eviction in small claims court plus court costs.

·         Auto accidents (Car Wrecks)

·         Bicycle Accidents (Bike Injury)

·         Boating Accidents Attorney

·         Choosing a Lawyer

·         Lawsuits

·         Criminal Court Cases (Misdemeanors, DWI)

·         Medical Malpractice

·         Lawyer Malpractice

·         Motorcycle Accidents

·         NC Dog Bite Cases

·         NC Automobile Insurance

·         North Carolina Courts

·         NC Laws and Cases

·         NC Car Insurance

·         Private Disability Insurance Claims

·         Life Insurance Claims

·         Incorporations, LLCs (Limited Liability Company)

·         Business Agreements & Litigation

·         Collection Cases

·         Fiduciary Litigation (Power of Attorney Abuses, Will Caveats, Elder Abuse et al)

Call Sanders Law Firm, PLLC (336) 724-4707, Winston-Salem, North Carolina. Statewide Representation